Denis Shapovalov was fined $7,000 after he accidentally hit an umpire, Arnaud Gabas, in the eye with a tennis ball during the Davis Cup in Ottawa, Canada, on Feb. 5 (video below).
After losing a point to Great Britain's Kyle Edmund, Shapovalov hit a tennis ball in anger, and it took a wayward trip; the 17-year-old Canadian was immediately disqualified.
"I feel incredibly ashamed and embarrassed and I just feel awful for letting my team down, for letting my country down, for acting in a way that I would never want to act," Shapovalov stated, notes The Guardian.
"I can promise that’s the last time I will do anything like that. I’m going to learn from this and try to move past it," he added.
Gabas was transported to a local hospital after the accident. Fortunately, there was no damage to his cornea or retina, but he is planning to see his personal eye specialist.
Referee Brian Earley could have fined Shapovalov $12,000, but took into consideration that the incident was an accident and that Shapovalov expressed remorse, which he immediately voiced.
The International Tennis Federation could hit Shapovalov with a ban or larger fine, but a ITF spokesman indicated that was not likely.
Great Britain defeated Canada 3-2 and advanced to the quarterfinals.
"It was a strange way to finish," Edmund said after the match, reports BBC Sport. "I've never been part of something like that."
Great Britain's captain Leon Smith stated: "A bit of a surprise what happened at the end there and I feel for the young lad. He's a great talent and he's learned a harsh lesson today."
Canada's captain Martin Laurendeau gave his take on the incident:
There's always a lesson to be learned from the good moments and the worst moments. If he wants to compete at this level he has to keep it together.
Emotional control is the biggest factor in this game. He must learn the lesson and hope it serves him in the rest of his career.