Skip to main content

Wambach’s Player of Year Award was Presented by Hope Solo (Video)

Abby Wambach has long since been recognized as one of the faces of U.S. women’s soccer, and this week she finally got due credit.

The U.S. forward received the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year this year, becoming the first American woman to claim the honor since Mia Hamm got it in 2002.

According to USA Today, Wambach earned 20.67 percent of the votes cast. She finished in third place last year.

Marta received 13.50 percent of votes tallied and Alex Morgan received 10.87 percent.

"Thank you for challenging me every day, Alex especially," Wambach, 32, while accepting the award.

Wambach scored five goals in the 2012 London Games – helping the U.S. side secure its third straight Olympic title.

(Kudos NESN, USA Today)

Related Content

Kevin-Prince Boateng Takes a Stand Against Soccer Racism


Popular Video