Skip to main content

Tiger Woods Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty At The Masters

Based on concerns over a ball drop during play at The Masters on Friday, Tiger Woods received a two-stroke penalty when he arrived at the world famous golf course Saturday morning.

On Friday at the 15th hole, Woods nailed a shot that was so perfect it hit the pin and immediately ricocheted into a nearby water hazard. Since the ball was in the water, Woods took a ball drop from near the area where the ball went out of play.

Initially, Woods’ drop was thought to be illegal. But when he arrived for play this morning, the Masters Committee alerted him he was going to be assessed a two-stroke penalty, not for the drop, but for what Woods called his “post-round interview.” Woods responded to the penalty this morning, via his Twitter account.

At hole #15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules.

I didn't know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard. Subsequently, I met with the Masters Committee Saturday morning..

and was advised they had reviewed the incident prior to the completion of my round. Their initial determination...

was that there was no violation, but they had additional concerns based on my post-round interview. After discussing the situation...

...with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty. I understand and accept the penalty and respect the Committees' decision.

The penalty took Woods from 3-under to 1-under which puts him five strokes behind current leader Jason Day.

Sources: Twitter, USAToday


Popular Video