Skip to main content

Romo, Cowboys Clinch NFC East For The First Time Since 2009

Tony Romo and the Dallas Cowboys beat the Indianapolis Colts 42-7 so clinch the NFC East title for the first time since 2009.

The Cowboys had a great chance to clinch the division once the Eagles lost to the Redskins on Saturday. All they had to do was win one of their remaining two games, which they did yesterday when they demolished the Colts.

The Colts had already clinched their AFC South title and didn’t have much to play for Sunday. Star wide receiver T.Y. Hilton sat out the game with a hamstring injury, but nobody expected a game like this. The Cowboys held the Colts to a season-low in points and yards. Colts only had one rushing yard the entire game. Andrew Luck struggled, throwing for a season-low 109 yards and two interceptions before being replaced by Matt Hasselbeck in the third quarter.

The NFL leading rusher, DeMarco Murray played with a broken bone in his left hand, but the Cowboys didn’t need him very much as he only ran for 58 yards on 22 carries and a 1-yard touchdown run. Romo and the rest of the offense stepped up in the big win.

Romo’s terrific night might have earned him some points for the league MVP voting. He only threw two incompletions all day, going 18-20 with 218 yards and four touchdown passes. He also became the Cowboys all-time leader in passing yards (32,971), surpassing Cowboys legend and three-time Super Bowl champion Troy Aikman.

Terrance Williams had 52 receiving yards and led the Cowboys with two receiving touchdowns. Jason Witten, Dez Bryant and Cole Beasley all caught one touchdown apiece. Witten caught seven passes for 90 yards, Bryant had 73 and Beasley ended with 29 on two receptions.

Source: ESPN / Photo Credit: Flickr


Popular Video