Rays' Matt Garza Gets No-Hitter Against Detroit Tigers

So that's five individual no-hitters this season, not counting the one that wasn't. That's no record, but still remarkable. Add in Armando Galarraga's no-no-no, and the half dozen in the first four months of 2010 matches the high for any of the past 50 seasons.

This is the seventh season in the past half century with five or more no-hitters (ignoring several combined jobs). The past three (1973, 1990, and 1991) had a common denominator: Nolan Ryan pitched no-hitters in each of those seasons, separated by 18 years. Let that sink in. Oh, and he had two of the five in '73.

Every one of the previous six big-no hit years since the Kennedy Administration featured a Hall-of-Famer: Jim Palmer, Catfish Hunter, Sandy Koufax, Ryan. Roy Halladay from this year's list is a good bet to join them someday.

And every one of those years had its Dallas Braden. Savor these names from the past as they roll off your tongue: Bo Belinsky (1962), George Culver (1968), Bob Moose (one of six in 1969), Steve Busby (1973), Terry Mulholland (1990), Tommy Greene (1991).

Nice going, Matt Garza. Two months to go. Who's next?

Read more great baseball stuff at The Hardball Times.


Popular Video