Skip to main content

College Football News: Army vs. Navy, Heisman, Coaching Changes

Slow week on the field, but an otherwise active week off of it. Florida lost its beloved head coach mid-week, but by the weekend has filled the vacancy. The college football awards were handed out Thursday night and the Heisman ceremony went as expected Saturday night. The lone game of the weekend came in the form of the traditional Army-Navy Game in Philadelphia.

Recapping in 500 words or less, this is what we learned about the season:

  • It didn't take long for Florida to fill the vacancy left when Urban Meyer resigned as head coach somewhat unexpectedly mid-week. Texas defensive coordinator (DC) Will Muschamp will take over as head coach, leaving Mack Brown and the Longhorns with two coordinator vacancies to fill. Former Miami head coach Randy Shannon has been mentioned as a possible DC candidate.
  • Rumors have already begun swirling regarding who will fill the coordinator vacancies at Florida with reports and speculation pointing strongest at current Alabama defensive coordinator Kirby Smart making a lateral move to Florida as DC and current Texas running backs coach Major Applewhite taking the offensive coordinator (OC) duties. It's all speculation and many find it hard to imagine Smart making a lateral move unless Florida offers a lucrative contract.
  • It was initially stated that Meyer's resignation was not health-related, although reports recently indicate that health did in fact play a role. Some have speculated that Meyer returns to coaching in 2011 despite his claims that he has no plans to do so, but with reports of health concerns, it's a safe bet that Meyer stays off the sidelines next season with a return in the future not hard to imagine.
  • The University of Miami has announced that Temple coach Al Golden will take over its head coaching duties. Reaction from 'Canes fans, who had hoped Vince Lombardi would rise from the dead to take the job, has been mixed. Golden took Temple from 1-11 in his first year (2006) to two consecutive bowl-eligible seasons, even if the Owls were unjustly left out of the bowl season this year. It's also been reported that Auburn OC Gus Malzahn is likely to accept the Vanderbilt head coaching job.
  • Navy continued its recent dominance over Army on Saturday, pulling off its ninth straight win in the series. Nine straight wins is impressive in and of itself, but each of the nine has been by more than one score. With Army finishing the regular season 6-6, it makes 14 .500 teams playing in bowl games this season. Couldn't we do without seven bowl games? Twenty-eight bowl games would suit the sport just fine...although some may still consider that too many.
  • Auburn quarterback Cam Newton took home four college football awards. Newton won the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award and Davey O'Brien Award and was awarded the Heisman Trophy Saturday.
  • Some have criticized the decision to vote Newton the Heisman winner because of the controversy surrounding his recruitment. Let's look at it this way: would it be better to award him the Heisman and take it away down the road if evidence surfaces that deems him ineligible in 2010, or would it be better to deny him the award only to find out later that he was in fact eligible? I'll go with the former. The man is eligible, so refusing to vote for him based on speculation and innuendo is extremely misguided and irresponsible.

My Heisman ballot if they let me vote:

Check out for the final Bloguin Heisman Poll. No surprise who finished atop our poll, but a good read nonetheless. The following is my final entry into the poll, and has been my entry for quite some time:

1. Cam Newton, QB, Auburn: No surprise. There isn't much to say about Newton's amazing season that hasn't already been said. Passing: 165/246, 67.1%, 2,589 yards, 28 TD, 6 INT; Rushing: 242 attempts, 1,409 yards, 5.8 YPC, 20 TD

2. Kellen Moore, QB, Boise State: Moore finished fourth in the Heisman voting, but I have him at number two after a very impressive season of his own. Passing: 245/345, 71.0%, 3,506 yards, 33 TD, 5 INT

3. LaMichael James, RB, Oregon: JJames finished third in the Heisman voting, which was somewhat surprising considering he was considered a lock to finish behind Newton for most of the season. Rushing: 281 attempts, 1,682 yards, 6.0 YPC, 21 TD

4. Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma State: I know wide receivers don't get much respect Heisman-wise unless they're returning kicks and punts for touchdowns every week, but I feel that Blackmon got a snub when he wasn't invited to NYC. In every game he played this season, Blackmon caught at least five passes for at least 105 yards and caught at least one touchdown in every game. Receiving: 102 receptions, 1,665 yards, 16.3 YPC, 18 TD

5. Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford: Luck finished second in the Heisman voting, but I have him fifth. Maybe a bit low for a guy who had an amazing season, but the four I have in front of him were equally-deserving. No matter how you look at it, the five on this list had remarkable seasons and after Newton at number one, the other four are essentially interchangeable on the ballot. Passing: 245/349, 70.2%, 3,051 yards, 28 TD, 7 INT

College Football Awards Recipients

Heisman Memorial Trophy: Cam Newton, QB, Auburn

Maxwell Award (Outstanding Player): Cam Newton, QB, Auburn

Walter Camp Award (Player of the Year): Cam Newton, QB, Auburn

Home Depot Award (Coach of the Year): Gene Chizik, Auburn

Doak Walker Award (National Running Back Award): LaMichael James, RB, Oregon

Davey O'Brien Award (National Quarterback Award): Cam Newton, QB, Auburn

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Outstanding Sr. QB): Scott Tolzien, QB, Wisconsin

Fred Biletnikoff Award (Outstanding Wide Receiver): Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma State

John Mackey Award (Outstanding Tight End): D.J. Williams, TE, Arkansas

Outland Trophy (Outstanding Interior Lineman): Gabe Carimi, OL, Wisconsin

Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award (Outstanding Lineman): Nick Fairley, DL, Auburn

Dick Butkus Award (Outstanding Linebacker): Von Miller, LB, Texas A&M

Jim Thorpe Award (Outstanding Defensive Back): Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU

Lou Groza Award (Collegiate Place-Kicker Award): <Dan Bailey, K, Oklahoma State

Ray Guy Award (Outstanding Punter): Chas Henry, P, Florida

Ted Hendricks Award (Defensive End of the Year Award): Da'Quan Bowers, DE, Clemson

Campbell Trophy (Top-Scholar Athlete): Sam Acho, DE, Texas

This Week's Bowl Games

Jared Levine and I will be previewing each bowl game this season, so make sure you come back before the game for a quick word on what each team has to do to win and who we think will come away with the victory.

Saturday, December 18, 2010:

2:00 PM ET ESPN: New Mexico Bowl- BYU vs. UTEP

5:30 PM ET ESPN: Humanitarian Bowl- Northern Illinois vs. Fresno State

9:00 PM ET ESPN: New Orleans Bowl- Ohio vs. Troy

Danny Hobrock is a sports journalist primarily covering college football and professional baseball. His work for Xtra Point Football has garnered national attention and is critically acclaimed. Danny is the former editor of a political and current events website and the editor of our college football content.

Email Danny at or follow him on Twitter at DannyHobrock

Image placeholder title
Image placeholder title

NCAA Football 2010 Season Previews and NFL 2010 Season Previews

If you would like to ask Dr. Roto a question, call (646) 915-9367 on Friday nights at 10:00pm EST and ask your question live on the that weeks Fantasy Football 411 Podcast.

Check out these other stories.....



Popular Video