Skip to main content

College Football Analysis: Counting Down the 50 Best FCS Student-Athletes

50 of the best student-athletes in the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision have been named to the College Sporting News 2011 Fabulous Fifty FCS All-America Team. Five of the players won the annual awards, coach of the year was announced and the MVP from the championship tournament was revealed. Also honorable mention selections are listed.

Including the honorable mention selections there were three coaches, 72 players, from 49 teams and 13 conferences. Sam Houston State lead the way with five honorees and 13 other squads had multiple selections.


Coach of the Year: Pete Adrian, Head Coach, Norfolk State Spartans
Offensive Player of the Year: RB Tim Flanders, Sophomore, Sam Houston State
Defensive Player of the Year: LB LJ Fort, Senior, Northern Iowa
Offensive Lineman Of The Year: OT Paul Cornick, Senior, North Dakota State
Freshmen Of The Year: RB Terrance West, Freshman, Towson
Special Teams Player Of The Year: KR Laron Scott, Senior, Georgia Southern
Playoff MVP: The North Dakota State University Bison Defense

QB: Chris Lum, Senior, Lehigh
QB: Nathan Dick, Senior, Central Arkansas
RB: Jonathan Grimes, Senior, William & Mary
RB: Shakir Bell, Sophomore, Indiana State
FB: Eric Breitenstein, Junior, Wofford
AB: Brock Jackolski, Senior, Stony Brook
C: Bryan Boemer, Senior, Southern Illinois
OG: J.C. Oram, Senior , Weber St
OG: Gino Gradkowski, Senior, Delaware
OT: Tom Compton, Senior, South Dakota
OT: Brett Moore, Senior, Georgia Southern
OL: Travis Watson, Senior, Sam Houston St
TE: Colin Anderson, Junior, Furman
TE: Renty Rollins, Senior, Jackson State
WR: Aaron Mellette, Junior, Elon
WR: Ryan Spadola, Junior, Lehigh
WR: Brian Quick, Senior, Appalachian State
WR: Nicholas Edwards, Junior, Eastern Washington
WR: Richard Sincere, Sophomore, Sam Houston State

DT: Brent Russell, Junior, Georgia Southern
DT: Ben Boothby, Senior, Northern Iowa
DE: Adrian Hamilton, Senior, Prairie View A&M
DE: Zach Nash, Senior, Sacramento State
DL: Andrew Schaetzke, Senior, Georgetown
DL: Ben Obaseki, Junior, Indiana State
DL: Blake Olijaro, Sophomore, San Diego
DL: Ryan Davis, Senior, Bethune-Cookman
LB: Kadarron Anderson, Senior, Furman
LB: Matt Evans, Junior, New Hampshire
LB: Wes Dothard, Sophomore, Chattanooga
LB: Caleb McSurdy, Senior, Montana
LB: Keith Pough, Junior, Howard
CB: Trumaine Johnson, Senior, Montana
CB: Josh Norman, Senior, Coastal Carolina
DB: Bryce Robertson, Senior, Bucknell
DB: Kejuan Riley, Junior, Alabama State
DB: Marcus Williams, Sophomore, North Dakota State
DB: Micah Pellerin, Senior, Hampton
S: Darnell Taylor, Junior, Sam Houston State
S: Justin Bethel, Senior, Presbyterian

K: Zach Brown, Senior, Portland State
P: David Harrington, Senior, Idaho State
KR: Kevin Fogg, Junior, Liberty
PR: CJ Estelle, Senior, UT-Martin
LS: Richard Wright, Sophomore, Liberty

Get the rest of this article over at College Sporting News.

Related Content

2012 NCAA Division I Championship Game Notes and Quotes


Popular Video