Skip to main content

2011 Red Auerbach College Coach of the Year Award Finalists

MIAMI (FL) — The four finalists for the 2011 Red Auerbach College Coach of the Year Award were announced on Monday.

Gary Manchel- Mercyhurst College

In his eighth year at Mercyhurst College, Coach Gary Manchel guided the Mercyhurst Lakers to one of their best seasons in school history, accumulating a 20-7 record and reaching the PSAC quarterfinal berth. The team was ranked as high as #17 in the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division II poll during the season.

Andy Yosinoff- Emmanuel College (Women)

In his 34th year, Coach Yosinoff guided the Lady Saints to a 20-8 record and their 16th NCAA Division III Tournament, where they fell to Mount Saint Mary College in the first round. The Lady Saints won finished undefeated in the GNAC regular season and went on to win the conference tournament title, beating Suffolk 83-67.

Josh Pastner- University of Memphis

In just his second season at the helm at Memphis, with one of the youngest rosters in the nation, Pastner guided the Tigers back to the NCAA Tournament, accumulating a 25-9 record and winning the Conference USA Tournament.

Joe Pasternack- University of New Orleans

After a tumultuous off-seasonwhich saw the Privateers begin the transition from Division I to Division II, limiting scholarships and resources in the process, Pasternack was able to lead New Orleans to a 16-6record.He continues the rebuilding process for the Privateers basketball team and New Orleans athletics in general since Hurricane Katrina.

Keith Dambrot- University of Akron

In buzzer-beating fashion, Dambrot led Akron to yet another NCAA Tournament berth, capturing the Middle American Conference (MAC) tournament title and making their fourth post-seasonappearance in 5 years. The Zips accumulated a 23-12 record; includingwins over fellow conference champions Bethune-Cookman (MEAC) and Arkansas-Little Rock (Sun Belt).

The Red Auerbach Award is given annually to the nation’s top Jewish college coach, as voted on by the members of the Jewish Coaches Association (JCA). The winner will be presented with the award at the Final Four in Indianapolis.

In 2009 the Jewish Coaches Association named its college coach of the year award after Red Auerbach, the coaching legend who won 938 games (a record at his retirement) and nine National Basketball Association (NBA) championships as a coach. As general manager and team president of the Celtics, he won an additional seven NBA titles, for a grand total of 16 in a span of 29 years, making him one of the most successful team officials ever in the history of professional sports.


Gary ManchelMercyhurst College

Andy YosinoffEmmanuel College (W)

Joe PasternackUniversity of New Orleans

Josh PastnerUniversity of Memphis

Keith DambrotUniversity of Akron


Popular Video