2013 NHL Midseason Awards

| by

We are somewhere near the midway point in this shortened NHL season (give or take) and I would be remiss of my duties if I weren’t to hand out awards. Mid-season awards of all shapes and forms. There has been no shortage of surprises to this point; be it with declines in personal play or team’s taking the league by surprise and playing much better than last year. Who takes the cake though when it comes to the bevvy of NHL awards handed out annually, or in this case, semi-annually? I think? All that and more below.

Hart Trophy

The award for the most valuable player goes to: Sidney Crosby. There are plenty of great options to choose from, but there is simply no overlooking Crosby’s production to this point. His 45 points (12 goals and 33 assists) put him 7 ahead of the second highest producing player in the NHL, Steven Stamkos. The onus on Crosby to perform at his otherworldly level has only increased with the injury situation currently sidelining Evgeni Malkin.

Honourable Mentions: Eric Staal, Steven Stamkos and Ryan Getzlaf

Vezina Trophy

The Vezina trophy is awarded to the best goaltender in the league. This one goes to Craig Anderson. Has to be the easiest pick I’ll make. With the injuries the Senators have had, logic would dictate the only reason this team isn’t in the cellar of the league would have to be Craig Anderson. This becomes even more obvious when you look at his league leading .952 save percentage and 1.49 GAA.

Honourable Mentions: Pekka Rinne and Corey Crawford

Norris Trophy

The award given to the best defensemen annually, goes to another Penguin, Kris Letang. How can you argue with picking a defenseman that’s averaging 1.13 points per game? To this point Letang has 3 goals and 24 assists and is sporting a +11 playing tough minutes against some of the league’s best forwards night in and night out. That’s none too shabby. Is there any debate he’ll make Team Canada next year now? Assuming NHLers are in the Olympics that is...

Honourable Mentions: P.K. Subban and Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Calder Trophy

Given to the best rookie under the age of 26 annually, this award goes to Jonathan Huberdeau. This undersized rookie got off to somewhat of a slow start, but has been nothing short of amazing since about the 10 game mark. The one bright spot on what’s been an otherwise miserable season in Florida.

Honourable Mentions: Cory Conacher and Brendan Gallagher

Selke Trophy
The Selke trophy is awarded to the best defensive forward in the league. This year the award goes to a familiar face in Pavel Datsyuk. Datsyuk has to be the most complete player in the NHL, and his defensive responsibility puts him a cut above other one dimensional stars. He has 2 shorthanded points and a +9, making this a relatively easy pick.

Honourable Mentions: Patrice Bergeron and Chris Kunitz

You can follow J.D. Burke for more hockey commentary, stats, tweets, etc. @WeveGotTwins and find his blog at We've Got Twins