Dan Miragliotta served as the referee Saturday night for a middleweight contest between Patrick Cote and Alessio Sakara at UFC 154: St-Pierre vs. Condit. Typically, that would not be news, but thanks to the interesting decision made, it is.
Sakara stuffed a Cote takedown and proceeded to finish "The Predator" with several strikes. However, the majority of the strikes went to the back of Cote's head, and Miragliotta gave the former No. 1 contender a disqualification victory.
There seemed to be plenty of controversy surrounding the decision, as it appeared Miragliotta made no effort to stop Sakara. However, the long-time ref told MMAjunkie.com that he made two verbal warnings to Sakara before a third strike ended the fight.
"As long as hand makes contact with the ear, it's a legal strike," Miragliotta said. "If you miss the ear and only hit the back of the head, it's illegal."
- Dan Hardy Interested In Josh Koscheck, Not Matt Riddle
- Alistair Overeem, Golden Glory Settle Lawsuits
- Vinny Magalhaes Takes Shot At Matt Hamill
- UFC On Fox 5 Prelims Headed For FX
- Urijah Faber Back To Training Full-Time
- Andrei Arlovski Headed For Russia, December Showdown With Mike Hayes
- MMA Veteran Rich Clementi Retires From Fighting
- Family Member Cast Doubts That Kyra Gracie Can Join MMA
Get more great MMA news and analysis over at Fightline.