First Look: 2010 NCAA Baseball Regionals Announced

| by

INDIANAPOLIS - The field of 64 teams competing for the 2010 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The national top eight seeds are Arizona St. (47-8), Texas (46-11), Florida (42-15), Coastal Carolina (51-7), Virginia (47-11), UCLA (43-13), Louisville (48-12) and Georgia Tech (45-13).

2010 NCAA Baseball Tournament Field of Teams

Tempe (No. 1 Arizona State, Milwaukee, Hawaii, San Diego)
Fayetteville (Arkansas, Grambling, Kansas State, Washington State)
Auburn (Auburn, Jacksonville, Southern Mississippi, Clemson)
Atlanta (No. 8 Georgia Tech, Mercer, Elon, Alabama)

Charlottesville (No. 5 Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth, St. John's, Ole Miss)
Norman (Oklahoma, Oral Roberts, North Carolina, California)
Columbia (South Carolina, Bucknell, The Citadel, Virginia Tech)
Myrtle Beach (No. 4 Coastal Carolina, Tony Brook, North Carolina State, College of Charleston)

Austin (No. 2 Texas, Rider, Louisiana-Lafayette, Rice)
Fort Worth (TCU, Lamar, Arizona, Baylor)
Norwich (Florida State, Central Connecticut State, Oregon, Connecticut)
Louisville (No. 7 Louisville, Saint Louis, Illinois State, Vanderbilt)

Los Angeles (No. 6 UCLA, Kent State, UC Irvine, LSU)
Fullerton (Cal State Fullerton, Minnesota, New Mexico, Stanford)
Coral Gables (Miami, Dartmouth, Florida International, Texas A&M)
Gainesville (No. 3 Florida, Bethune-Cookman, Oregon State, Florida Atlantic)

The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), Pacific-10 (Pac-10) and the Southeastern Conference led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with eight apiece. The marks for the ACC and the Pac-10 were conference all-time highs. The Big 12 had five and the Big East and Sun Belt had three teams.

Twenty-nine of the 64 teams were not in the field last year. Mercer, the Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament champion, is making the championship for the first time. New Mexico last was in the field in 1962 and Oregon is in the field for the first time since 1964, and only two years after reinstating the baseball program.

Miami (Florida) is in the field for the 38th consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 33rd straight appearance, second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (19), Rice (16), Oral Roberts (13) and Texas (12).

Of the 292 championship eligible Division I institutions that sponsor baseball, Coastal Carolina has the most Division I wins with 51.

Twenty-seven other teams won at least 40 Division I contests, and all of which except Liberty, Southeastern La., Utah Valley and Wichita State are in the field.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 4, to Monday, June 7 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 7 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

The 64th Men's College World Series begins play Saturday, June 19, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

Atlantic Coast 8 (Clemson, Florida St., Georgia Tech, Miami (FL), North Carolina, North Carolina St., Virginia, Virginia Tech)
Pacific-10 8 (Arizona, Arizona St., California, Oregon, Oregon St., Stanford, UCLA, Washington St.)
Southeastern 8 (Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, LSU, Mississippi, South Carolina, Vanderbilt)
Big 12 5 (Baylor, Kansas St., Oklahoma, Texas, Texas A&M)
Big East 3 [Connecticut, Louisville, St. John's (NY)]
Southern 3 (Citadel, Col. of Charleston, Elon)
Sun Belt 3 (Fla. Atlantic, FIU, La.-Lafayette)
Big West 2 (UC Irvine, Cal St. Fullerton)
Conference USA 2 (Rice, Southern Miss.)
Mountain West 2 (New Mexico, TCU)
America East 1 (Stony Brook)
Atlantic Sun 1 (Mercer)
Atlantic 10 1 (St. Louis)
Big South 1 (Coastal Carolina)
Big Ten 1 (Minnesota)
Colonial 1 (VCU)
Horizon 1 (Milwaukee)
Ivy 1 (Dartmouth)
Metro Atlantic 1 (Rider)
Mid-American 1 (Kent St.)
Mid-Eastern 1 (Bethune-Cookman)
Missouri Valley 1 (Illinois St.)
Northeast 1 (Central Conn. St.)
Ohio Valley 1 (Jacksonville St.)
Patriot 1 (Bucknell)
Summit 1 (Oral Roberts)
Southland 1 (Lamar)
Southwestern 1 (Grambling)
West Coast 1 (San Diego)
Western Athletic 1 (Hawaii)
California 6 (California, UC Irvine, Cal St. Fullerton, San Diego, Stanford, UCLA)
Florida 6 [Bethune-Cookman, Florida, Fla. Atlantic, FIU, Florida St., Miami (FL)]
Texas 6 (Baylor, Lamar, Rice, TCU, Texas, Texas A&M)
South Carolina 5 (Citadel, Clemson, Coastal Carolina, Col. of Charleston, South Carolina)
Alabama 3 (Alabama, Auburn, Jacksonville St.)
Louisiana 3 (Grambling, LSU, La.-Lafayette)
North Carolina 3 (Elon, North Carolina, North Carolina St.)
Virginia 3 (Virginia, VCU, Virginia Tech)
Arizona 2 (Arizona, Arizona St.)
Connecticut 2 (Central Conn. St., Connecticut)
Georgia 2 (Georgia Tech, Mercer)
Mississippi 2 (Mississippi, Southern Miss.)
New York 2 [St. John's (NY), Stony Brook]
Oklahoma 2 (Oklahoma, Oral Roberts)
Oregon 2 (Oregon, Oregon St.)
Arkansas 1 (Arkansas)
Hawaii 1 (Hawaii)
Illinois 1 (Illinois St.)
Kansas 1 (Kansas St.)
Kentucky 1 (Louisville)
Minnesota 1 (Minnesota)
Missouri 1 (St. Louis)
New Hampshire 1 (Dartmouth)
New Jersey 1 (Rider)
New Mexico 1 (New Mexico)
Ohio 1 (Kent St.)
Pennsylvania 1 (Bucknell)
Tennessee 1 (Vanderbilt)
Washington 1 (Washington St.)
Wisconsin 1 (Milwaukee)

OTHER NOTES Thirty-five of the 64 teams were in the 2009 field. Only one team is making the field for the first time in the program's history: Mercer.

New Mexico is in the field for the first time since 1962.

Oregon is in the field for the first time since 1964, and only two years after reinstating the baseball program.

The eight teams from the Pacific-10 are the most ever for this conference, and the best percentage of 80 percent (eight of 10 conference teams) in NCAA Division I Baseball history.

Miami (FL) is in the field for the 38th consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 33rd straight appearance, which ranks second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks include Cal State Fullerton (19), Rice (16), Oral Roberts (13) and Texas (12).