Other Sports
Other Sports

2010 Vuelta a España – Stage 15 News and Updates

| by Sports Nickel
Stage 15 – Solares to Lagos de Covadonga – 187.3 km (116.1 mi)

Sunday/12 September 2010


After the pain of watching Basque rider Igor Anton take a spill yesterday that would leave him unable to continue the race, everyone – from the riders to the fans to the team directors to the race organizers to the press both on site and around the globe — were hoping for some sort of story to liven the spirits after a dour start to the weekend in Spain. On Stage 15, summiting up to the legendary Lagos de Covadonga, local boy Carlos Barredo made good for the assembled crowd at the mountainside finish as he crossed the line more than a minute ahead of his nearest competitor. The Quick Step rider launched his attack with 12.5 kilometers remaining, using the opening ramps of the climb to the lakes as his springboard to shed his breakaway partners and solo on alone to the victory.

But did you realize that winning this stage in his home region marked the first time Barredo has ever won a stage in any grand tour? The winner of last year’s Clásica de San Sebastián and a guy who earlier in his career showed promise in stage races like the Volta a Catalunya and Three Days of De Panne, the man from Asturias finally gave his Quick Step team something to cheer about for a change after their first two weeks went without a lick of luck in the race.

Without a rider anywhere near the top ten in the general classification or the points race, all that was left for Quick Step to salvage its 2010 Vuelta was to send riders up the road into breakaways and hope that they prevail over their companions once the line comes into play. That was how Barredo got into position to win the stage at the end, by getting off the front in a six-man breakaway with Olivier Kaisen (Omega Pharma-Lotto), Martin Velits (HTC-Columbia), Greg Van Avermaet (Omega Pharma-Lotto), Nico Sijmens (Cofidis) and Pierre Cazaux (Française des Jeux) once the pace finally settle around the 75km mark of the stage. The half-dozen cyclists managed a maximum gap of just under ten minutes at one point, but while the field would narrow that mark significantly by the finish line it would prove the decisive move of the day nonetheless.

At the base of the climb Barredo made the move that would seal his victory. Nico Sijmens would make it over 67 seconds later, a surprising Martin Velits took third at 1:43, and as the rest of the riders trickled through it was obvious that nothing was going to make this stage worthwhile for anyone but Barredo. Nibali held on to his four-second lead against Joaquin Rodriguez, hoping to see the jersey on his shoulders into the time trial where he would stand the best chance amongst the riders in contention of maintaining his grip on the new red shirt.

While Ezequiel Mosqura and his Xacobeo-Galicia team tried valiantly to get the veteran into position to climb into the jersey, it was to no avail. Working with Rodriguez this time to limit the challenge of Mosquera, Nibali expertly trimmed away every inch of time that could be sacrificed and managed to remain four seconds in the lead. I wouldn’t say that there’s a curse, necessarily, but the person who takes control of his own destiny is going to fare quite well as the race takes one more run tomorrow before a rest day precedes the Peñafiel time trial…


Winners of the
Lagos de Covadonga stage

  • 1983 – Marino Lejarreta – Spain
  • 1984 – Raimund Dietzen – Germany
  • 1985 – Pedro Delgado – Spain
  • 1986 – Robert Millar – United Kingdom
  • 1987 – Lucho Herrera – Colombia
  • 1989 – Alvaro Pino – Spain
  • 1991 – Lucho Herrera – Colombia
  • 1992 – Pedro Delgado – Spain
  • 1993 – Oliverio Rincón – Colombia
  • 1994 – Laurent Jalabert – France
  • 1996 – Laurent Jalabert – France
  • 1997 – Pavel Tonkov – Russia
  • 2000 – Andrei Zintchenko – Russia
  • 2001 – Juan Miguel Mercado – Spain
  • 2005 – Eladio Jimenez Sanchez – Spain
  • 2007 – Vladimir Efimkin – Russia
  • 2010 – Carlos Barredo – Spain
1 Carlos Barredo (Spa) Quick Step 4:33:09  
2 Nicol Sijmens (Bel) Cofidis, le crédit en ligne 0:01:07  
3 Martin Velits (Svk) Team HTC-Columbia 0:01:43  
4 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:02:06  
5 Pierre Cazaux (Fra) FDJ 0:02:10  
6 Olivier Kaisen (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:02:12  
7 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 0:02:15  
8 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 0:02:26  
9 Peter Velits (Svk) Team HTC-Columbia    
10 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha    


1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 65:31:14  
2 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha 0:00:04  
3 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 0:00:39  
4 Peter Velits (Svk) Team HTC-Columbia 0:02:29  
5 Xavier Tondo (Spa) Cervélo Test Team 0:02:30  
6 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Ag2R-La Mondiale 0:02:47  
7 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 0:02:48  
8 Tom Danielson (USA) Garmin-Transitions 0:03:48  
9 Carlos Sastre (Spa) Cervélo Test Team 0:04:29  
10 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Team Katusha 0:05:27  


1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team HTC-Columbia 111  pts
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Transitions 90  
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 82  
4 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha 79  
5 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 68  
6 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis, le crédit en ligne 68  
7 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 62  
8 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Cervélo Test Team 57  
9 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 53  
10 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) FDJ 47  


1 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis, le crédit en ligne 45  pts
2 Serafin Martinez (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 36  
3 Gonzalo Rabunal (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 25  
4 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 16  
5 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha 15  
6 Carlos Barredo (Spa) Quick Step 15  
7 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Team Milram 14  
8 Xavier Tondo (Spa) Cervélo Test Team 11  
9 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 11  
10 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) FDJ 10  
  Oscar Pujol (Spa) Cervélo Test Team 10  
  Johann Tschopp (Swi) BBOX Bouygues Telecom 10  
  Nicol Sijmens (Bel) Cofidis, le crédit en ligne 10


1 Team Katusha 196:12:13  
2 Caisse D’Epargne 0:03:45  
3 Cervelo Test Team 0:07:47  
4 Omega Pharma – Lotto 0:07:51  
5 Xacobeo Galicia 0:08:58  
6 AG2R – La Mondiale 0:17:27  
7 Liquigas – Doimo 0:34:34  
8 Team HTC – Columbia 0:36:34  
9 Euskaltel – Euskadi 0:43:58  
10 Astana 0:48:28

2010 Vuelta a España – Stage 15 News and Notes is a post originally from: SportsNickel.com - In Sports We Trust


Related posts:

  1. 2010 Vuelta a España – Stage 3 News and Notes
  2. 2010 Vuelta a España – Stage 10 News and Notes
  3. 2010 Vuelta a España – Stage 4 News and Notes