A woman in Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia, recently won the right to remove the testicles from her dead fiance.
After her fiance unexpectedly died in April, the unidentified woman filed an application with the country's Supreme Court to have his testicles removed so she could use his sperm to father a child someday, notes the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.
The couple's friends backed the woman up with sworn testimony that the couple wanted to have a child.
The couple met in September 2015, planned to get married in 2016 and were trying to have a baby.
Attorneys for the fiance and his parents did not object to the woman's unusual request.
The high court said the testicles are to be stored at an in vitro fertilization facility, and the woman will have to file another court motion to actually use the sperm.
In more health news, Republican Gov. Nikki Haley of South Carolina signed a bill into law on May 25 banning most abortions in the state after 20 weeks, with no exception for rape or incest victims, notes CNN.
The Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act does allow for abortion if the mother's life is in danger.
The new law may conflict with the U.S. Supreme Court's Roe v. Wade decision of 1973 that legalized abortions. That ruling also allowed states to create restrictions after viability, which is generally accepted to be between 24 and 28 weeks, according to the Legal Information Institute.
South Carolina joins 13 other states with this type of abortion ban.
South Carolina's new law says there is "substantial medical evidence" that a fetus can feel pain at 20 weeks.
"After twenty weeks, the unborn child reacts to stimuli that would be recognized as painful if applied to an adult human, for example, by recoiling," according to the bill.
It's not clear what this "substantial medical evidence" is, but a study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association in 2005 said, "Evidence regarding the capacity for fetal pain is limited but indicates that fetal perception of pain is unlikely before the third trimester [28 weeks into pregnancy]."
Any doctor who breaks the South Carolina law could be locked in jail for up to three years and possibly pay a fine.