Skip to main content

Cops: Student Charged, Hit Teacher With Paper Airplane

A 17-year-old student was charged with third-degree assault and battery on Jan. 10 after he allegedly tossed a paper airplane that hit a teacher's eye at Andrews High School in South Carolina.

Edward McIver, a science teacher, told the school resource officer, Deputy Paul Glovert, that other students said that David Michael Elliott tossed the paper airplane, notes the South Strand News.

Glover wrote in his report that noted McIver's eye was "very red," and that the teacher was "very upset" because he recently had eye surgery.

Glover added that he and the vice principal met with David who confessed to throwing the paper airplane, which was intended to strike McIver in the head. According to Glover, the teen did not give a "logical reason" for the paper airplane incident.

McIver said he wanted to press charges because "something needs to be done" about David, who had past confrontations with him.

If convicted, David could face 30 days in jail and a fine up to $500. The conviction might disqualify him from acceptance to many colleges.

"That's the law enforcement side," Andrews High School principal Michelle Greene said. "That is a violation of school policy, but if law enforcement ... deem it necessary to get a warrant for it, then that's what happens. The school does not interfere with law enforcement business, and they don't interfere with ours."

"If any employee believes a crime has taken place, we report it," said Alan Walters, director of safety and risk management for the Georgetown County School District. "Law enforcement makes a decision if a crime occurred or not and, if it did, whether they choose to file charges or not."

South Carolina’s Code of Laws on Assault and Battery addresses the misdemeanor charges that appear to match this case:

A person commits the offense of assault and battery in the third degree if the person unlawfully injures another person, or offers or attempts to injure another person with the present ability to do so.

A person who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction, must be fined not more than five hundred dollars, or imprisoned for not more than thirty days, or both.

Assault and battery in the third degree is a lesser-included offense of assault and battery in the second degree, as defined in subsection (D)(1), assault and battery in the first degree, as defined in subsection (C)(1), assault and battery of a high and aggravated nature, as defined in subsection (B)(1), and attempted murder, as defined in Section 16-3-29.

Sources: South Strand News, JUSTIA / Photo Credit: ABF/Wikimedia Commons

Popular Video