Skip to main content

Louisiana Journalists to Face Jail Time For Publishing Gun Info?

According to a bill passed by the state's Senate, Louisiana journalists could face up to $10,000 in fines and six months in jail if they intentionally publish information about the state’s concealed-carry handgun permit holders.

Similarly, as noted by Mother Jones, public safety officials who slip such information to the press are eligible for fines of up to $500 and six months in jail.

Although journalists have branded the bill as unconstitutional, it’s currently headed to Gov. Bobby Jindal’s desk for approval after passing in the Senate on Tuesday.

"It's one of those tricky areas, because in some ways [the bill] works as prior restraint, but in others, if they make it a law that penalizes you for publishing [the information], you're being penalized after the fact," says Gregg Leslie, legal defense director at the Reporter's Committee for Freedom of the Press. "So it's not actually keeping you from publishing it."

Although may seem extreme in comparison to other bills, the National Rifle Association and pro-gun lawmakers around the country have actually been fiercely advocating for similar laws around the country – laws that make the release of concealed-carry information a serious offense.

Sources: Mother Jones


Popular Video