Sports

Should Tim Tebow’s Game-Winning TD During Broncos vs. Steelers Have Counted?

| by Alex Groberman

Tim Tebow went back to being the darling of the sports world this past weekend when he led his Denver Broncos past the Pittsburgh Steelers in the opening round of the NFL Playoffs.

He did so by playing undoubtedly the best game of his pro career, and absolutely punishing an admittedly hobbled Pittsburgh defensive unit that obviously underestimated him. Tebow put the cherry atop his stellar showing versus the Steelers in overtime, when he threw the game-winning pass to Demaryius Thomas on the very first play of the extra period.

Or did he?

Chris Chase of Yahoo! Sports has a slightly different take on what happened. Take it away, Chris:

Popular Video

This judge looked an inmate square in the eyes and did something that left the entire courtroom in tears:

A review of the Denver Broncos' pre-snap formation on the game-winning touchdown pass from Tim Tebow to Demaryius Thomas suggests that the play could have been ruled illegal.

Only six Denver Broncos players were lined up on the line of scrimmage before the snap. NFL rules say that a team must have seven or more players on the line for a snap to be legal. As the picture above shows, tight end Dante Rosario was well behind his teammates.

Now, just to be clear, at the end of his piece Chase is careful to note this: “Should Tebow's touchdown have counted? Absolutely. It isn't a penalty if you don't get caught.”

Again, nobody is taking anything away from Tebow or the Broncos. This is just one of those funny things to point out after the fact.

But clearly Tebow cheated his way to victory and is an awful person.

(Kudos to Yahoo! Sports for the find)

Related Content

Totally Worthless Green Bay Packers Stock Now Available with Misspellings

Pittsburgh Mayor Luke Ravenstahl Forced to Pay Up After Broncos Beat Steelers

Tim Tebow Leading Broncos Past Steelers Was a Ratings Monster for CBS