Sports

ESPN's Dick Vitale Defends Joe Paterno, Stands by Opinion Despite Criticism

0

Without question, it remains somewhat controversial when a member of the national sports media voices his or her opinions about Joe Paterno, whether in support of or in defiance to the former Penn State head coach.

Many times the anti-Paterno statements can be lost on specifics of the story. To be fair, there are many times when Paterno supporters fail to look at the situation without blue and white goggles as well. Noted ESPN basketball personality Dick Vitale shared his thoughts on Paterno over the weekend following this interview Duke basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski had with CNN's Piers Morgan.

Coach K SAYS Penn ST made mistake in firing of Joe PA - I agreenewsobserver.com/2012/06/16/214…

— Dick Vitale (@DickieV) June 16, 2012

In the interview Coach K, who as you remember took part in a special ESPN program last summer about doing things the right way in collegiate athletics, criticized Penn State, among other things, for the firing of Paterno. Vitale took to Twitter to agree with the fact that Paterno was not the main villain in this tragic tale, and quickly became the target of criticism for defending the actions (or inaction) of Paterno in response to the Jerry Sandusky allegations and alleged incidents.

As a Twitter onslaught against Vitale ensued, Vitale at times reminded his followers just what was the point of his initial comments. Paterno, while not 100 percent free of guilt in this unfolding story, was never the number one villain to be focusing on, just the most notable.

Respect those of u that have a diff. view on Joe Pa-I feel that it was not proven to me beyond a doubt that he covered up theSandusky sit.

— Dick Vitale (@DickieV) June 16, 2012

Do u believe Joe Pa would allow this monster to attack innocent young ppl?Maybe I am naive but I just don't believe it-attack the man JS.

— Dick Vitale (@DickieV) June 17, 2012

So we can have a better feel 4 my views on Sandusky sit.-1st Coack K was stating his feelings on firing of JP-I agreed . JS Should be focus!

— Dick Vitale (@DickieV) June 17, 2012

Now if JP was aware of all the things we r hearing obviously he & the Univ officials r guilty . I can not believe he vwould accept this.

— Dick Vitale (@DickieV) June 17, 2012

We should be concentrating on the REAL MONSTER Sandusky - My heart goes out to all those victims. JP went directly to his bosses when told.

— Dick Vitale (@DickieV) June 17, 2012

Yes Joe Pa SHOULD HAVE DONE MORE - but let's not get away from the real problem & that is Jerry Sandusky.

— Dick Vitale (@DickieV) June 17, 2012

U have my views & I will be 1stto scream I was wrong if proven that Joe Pa wascovering up these cruel acts by this alleged monster .

— Dick Vitale (@DickieV) June 17, 2012

I, for one, agree with the above Vitale tweets. Could Paterno have done more? Yes. Should he have done more? I believe so. Is Paterno the man people should be focusing on right now? More than the people who had more power and possibly knew more about the situations related to Sandusky, the real antagonist in the whole mess? No.

I do not blame anyone for feeling Paterno should be called out for his role in all of this, but just keep in mind just how much more responsible other people may have been in all of this.

The trial of Sandusky will resume Monday, with the defense ready to start staing their case and calling their witnesses.

Follow Nittany Lion's Den on TwitterFacebook and Google+.

Hype this up on BallHyped or vote up on BallTribe.

Related Content

Big East: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

Cup of Joe [5.4.2012] - Men's volleyball title hopes ended

The Runner's High Podcast for May 1

At Penn State quarterbacks get in legal trouble for stealing a bottle of Gatorade

Seven dream non-conference opponents for Penn State

Bill O'Brien talks to 6 ABC on Penn State Caravan

Video: Bill O'Brien and Pat Chambers joint press conference on PSU Caravan

Video: Adam Taliaferro reacts to the Penn State Caravan

Video: Penn State's Pat Chambers meets with media on PSU Caravan

Bill O'Brien makes first stop on PSU Caravan

Penn State's Derek Moye and D'Anton Lynn join AFC East rivals

Get more great Penn State news and analysis over at Nittany Lions Den.

0

Featured Video

Donald Trump Strikes Back At His Critics