NBA News Round-Up: Lakers Hire Mike D'Antoni, Phil Jackson Gets Rejected and More

| by The No Look Pass

We have a big day here and once again it involves a ton of Laker talk. OK, maybe not a ton, but enough.

The whole world knows by now that Mike D'Antoni, not Phil Jackson, is the new coach of the Lakers. It was a surprise move that came after reports that Jackson was prepared to accept the job if the Lakers agreed to some terms. OK, a lot of terms.

Apparently, Phil wanted a lot: time off from long road trips, more control in GM matters. There were even false rumors he wanted to coach from his office on an iPad. Let's be serious, people; do you really think that was a demand? Nonetheless, Phil is out in the cold somewhere doing his Monday morning thing. The demands seemed to be too much for Lakers' management, and on top of it, there was probably a little pride involved on the Jim Buss side.

Regardless, the choice was made and reactions have ensued: some good and some interesting. Fans seem to be nervous D'Antoni is in the fold. There is a stigma that follows him in regards to defense. But the truth is, D'Antoni's system in Phoenix had a way of skewing the numbers on defense and he also never had defensive specialists there. In L.A., he will have Dwight Howard, Ron Artest and Kobe Bryant. All are perennial all-defensive team members, which should help with the seven-seconds-or-less system.

All in all, I think Lakers fans should be happy with their new coach. A new dawn, a new day for L.A. and this coach has a chance to be successful. If not, at least we get some of our Showtime Lakers back, right?

Now, onto the other stuff:

You remember that guy by the name of Jimmer from BYU? Yeah, that guy is starting to crack the rotation in the Cowbell Kingdom, and is doing it at a pretty high clip … like 60 percent from the field, 50 percent from three high.

There will be no Hinrich Maneuver in Chicago when Boston comes to town. Kirk Hinrich is out due to a hip injury.

Don't look now, but here comes the Thunder. Maybe that should be don't listen now ... hmm. Anyway, the Thunder are on a four-game win streak and starting to look less and less like they miss James Harden.

Here is a line that will never surprise you - Demarcus Cousins suspended for two games. Here is the why.

Now that we are well into the regular season, it seems the appropriate time to judge players based on the abilities they have shown so far and where they might be able to take their teams this year ... at least Brian Geltzeiler thinks so. Brian has a knack for being right. It's annoying sometimes, but we will have to wait a few more weeks to find out what pans out from his article. Enjoy.

The 76ers thought they had it made when they got the second-best center in the league this offseason, but the news that has continued to trickle out about Andrew Bynum's "bum knee" just goes to show why the Lakers weren't so bummed in letting him go.

Everybody gets a special present this Christmas with the release of Adidas' BIG color jerseys for all 10 teams playing on the holiday. They feature a simple, monochromatic color with a bold border to make the team name.  I'll just go ahead and put myself on the naughty list though so I don't have to wear this atrocity.

In today's Article of the Day, Schiller will literally be my filler, and tell you his noteworthy thoughts on things happening around the league.

Today's Slate:

Utah at Toronto (7 P.M. EST/4 P.M. PST)
Milwaukee at Philadelphia (7 P.M. EST/4 P.M. PST)
Oklahoma City at Detroit (7:30 P.M. EST/4:30 P.M. PST)
Boston at Chicago (8 P.M. EST/5 P.M. PST)
Miami at Houston (8 P.M. EST/5 P.M. PST)
Minnesota at Dallas (8:30 P.M. EST/5:30 P.M. PST)
Denver at Phoenix (9 P.M. EST/6 P.M. PST)
Atlanta at Portland (10 P.M. EST/7 P.M. PST)

Birthdays for November 12

Player Name (playing years)

Black, Norman 1980-1980
Blaney, George 1961-1961
Brown, Bob 1948-1949
Glass, Gerald 1990-1995

Payton Wales is our TNLP scribe in charge of links. Catch his writing at TheProBasketballTalk.Com and follow him on Twitter at @PaytonWales.

Related Content

DeMar DeRozan Agrees To Contract Extension With Toronto

Stephen Curry And Golden State Agree To Extension

Ty Lawson Signs An Extension With Denver

2012-13 TNLP Season Preview (30-Team Quickie)

2012-13 Los Angeles Lakers Season Preview