NBA News Round-Up: Cavs vs. Wizards, Derrick Rose's Return, Danny Granger's Status and More

| by The No Look Pass

Welcome to another day of the Bullet Passes. Today will probably be short and sweet because I am dealing with the after effects of Sandy, so there probably will not be as much sarcasm and funny. I want to get my stuff done so I can get home and watch Opening Night. You understand, right? So let's get to it and stop wasting time. I hope everyone on the East Coast is OK and doing well, by the way. Let's go!

We will start with injuries and cancellations.

The Cleveland Cavaliers' game against the Washington Wizards will continue as scheduled after Hurricane Sandy threatened to postpone the matchup. Thousands are still without power throughout Ohio, and the NBA is keeping in close contact with city officials in case anything changes.

The Chicago Bulls have not set a return date for Derrick Rose, coming back from his ACL injury suffered in Game 1 of last year's playoffs. Executive Vice-President of basketball operations, John Paxson, said it would be "foolish" to rush his return amid great progress so far.

Danny Granger is out indefinitely with a sore knee. The Pacers have not set a return date for the forward, who said he experienced the soreness last season, but played through conference semifinals. Granger will seek a second opinion on the diagnosis.

After suffering a strained right foot in the Lakers' preseason game against Sacramento, Kobe Bryant is a game-time decision for L.A.'s season opener. An MRI last week confirmed the strain and Bryant has not practiced for seven days. Playing without Bryant is, of course, not ideal but there is no real concern over his missing the first game.

A two-to-three week absence has turned to six for Amar'e Stoudemire, who will now miss six weeks with the Knicks after re-injuring his surgically repaired left knee.

It seems Magic Johnson is all aboard when it comes to getting a franchise back in Seattle, even if it is at the cost of the Sacramento Kings.

Tonight is the Lakers' big night with five big-name starters and one monster TV contract.

Apparently, it wasn't enough to just rank the teams this preseason because someone at Blazers Edge ranked the mascots, too. Someone at Blazers Edge has a lot of time on their hands. (REY-REY'S NOTE: I wish I THOUGHT of that!)

Scottie Pippen wants to be a head coach, on one condition

Not just anyone can link-up with Li-Ning. Dwyane Wade's newest shoe release -- the Way of Wade Dynasty Collection Pack -- can only be obtained through an exclusive pass, according to

That's it for today. Enjoy the launch of the season with tonight's lineup. Catch up with you all later. Have a good one!

Tonight's slate

Washington at Cleveland  (7 P.M. EST/4 P.M. PST)
Boston at Miami (8 P.M. EST/5 P.M. PST)
Dallas at LA Lakers (10:30 P.M. EST/7:30 P.M. PST)

Birthdays for October 30

Player Name (playing years)

Bradley, Alex 1981-1981
Brown, George 1957-1957
Chenier, Phil 1971-1980
Combs, Glen 1968-1974
Copa, Tom 1991-1991
Duren, John 1980-1982
Edwards, Kevin 1988-2000
Meineke, Don 1952-1957
Peeples, George 1967-1972
Rush, Kareem 2002-2009
Swagerty, Keith 1968-1969
Taylor, Maurice 1997-2006
Tyler, Terry 1978-1988

Payton Wales is our loopy TNLP scribe in charge of links. Catch his writing at TheProBasketballTalk.Com and follow him on Twitter at @PaytonWales.

Related Content

2012-13 Los Angeles Lakers Season Preview

Ty Lawson Signs An Extension With Denver

2012-13 TNLP Season Award Predictions

2012-13 TNLP Season Preview (30-Team Quickie)

Bullet Passes (10/30/2012): Tonight’s The Night