NBA News Round-Up: Barack Obama Plays Basketball, Anthony Davis Misses Time and More

| by The No Look Pass

Hello and welcome to Wednesday's Bullet Passes. I am your spirit guide, Payton Wales, and you are the person who is way too lazy to surf the web and find all this stuff on your own. But I'm not complaining. I love doing this for you and I'm glad you turn up every day to read them.

Speaking of turnouts, a lot of people turned up to vote yesterday to make a lot of changes in this country and keep some things the same. One thing staying the same is the commander-in-chief Barack Obama. What does this have to do with basketball, you ask? Well, the man is an avid sports fan and a basketball player to boot. He loves the game as well as his family and seems to connect well with this country's high-level athletes, which is why the reactions from a lot of athletes after last night's presidential victory were not all that surprising.

And, if you were wondering how the President spent the hours leading up to the election, he played basketball with Scottie Pippen, which makes me want to run for president. I don't care if I win and have no idea what I'd do with the country; I wanna hoop with Kobe or Rondo. Don't worry, the logic is solid.

And while we are talking Chicago Bulls, we should address the fact that the Bulls don't really seem to be missing Derrick Rose as much as some pundits thought they would. The team seems to be playing at a high level with the full intent of adding another mega weapon to their arsenal when Rose is back. The Eastern Conference may get a little tougher for the Heat than we thought.

Just down the road from the Bulls are the Indiana Pacers and they are not in as good of a place as Chicago in regards to missing starting players. The Pacers received word yesterday that forward Danny Granger will be out another three months after getting a shot for the patellar tendinitis in his knee. It's an injury's Mike Prada thinks will severely cripple the Pacers through this season.

Both New Orleans Hornets rookies Anthony Davis and Austin Rivers will miss Wednesday night's game against the Philadelphia 76ers. Rivers sprain an index finger and Davis still suffers from last week's concussion. You know, the one coach Monty Williams said needed to be toughed out and that people needed to stop treating these players like little kids. I figured Coach Williams would get fined for those comments and I was right. There goes another $25k to David Stern's rocking chair fund.

While we are talking concussions and rookies, Cavs center Tyler Zeller has a concussion and a broken cheekbone. He received the injuries when he tried to break DeAndre Jordan's elbow with his face in the fourth quarter of Monday's game between the Cavs and the Clippers.

Gerald Wallace will miss his second straight game for the Nets when they face the Miami Heat tonight.

You know when an NBA player does something that surprises you and you think, "My Lord, you're talented at something more than basketball? Amazing!" Yeah, that didn't happen when I watched this video of Dirk singing "Born in the USA."

It appears Lakers fans aren't the only ones that wish Lamar Odom still played for the team. Too bad, Lamar ate Khloe's weight in candy this summer and his career is in a slump or I would say bring him back.

And, of course, we can't skip the Lakers talk. It seems word or rumor has finally come out that Lakers players are also starting to question Mike Brown's leadership and system. Uh oh, here we go!

Former Sacramento Kings player Terrence Williams will be playing in China this year. If anyone remembers Williams from … yeah, never mind.

Article of the Day comes from Brett David Roberts over at Bleacher Report.

Russell Westbrook and 7 NBA Stars Still Searching for Their Rhythm in 2012-13 is a slideshow. I know, annoying, but is a good read on seven players most of us expected to start right where they left off but haven't. It was a fun read for me and that's why I thought you would like it.

That about wraps up today, my friends. There is a long line of match-ups tonight to look forward and I for one am ready to dive right in. See you tomorrow for more news and my exciting commentary. Until then, have a good one!

Tonight's Slate

Phoenix at Charlotte (7 P.M. EST/4 P.M. PST)
Washington at Boston (7:30 P.M. EST/4:30 P.M. PST)
Indiana at Atlanta (7:30 P.M. EST/4:30 P.M. PST)
Brooklyn at Miami (7:30 P.M. EST/4:30 P.M. PST)
Memphis at Milwaukee (8 P.M. EST/5 P.M. PST)
Philadelphia at New Orleans (8 P.M. EST/5 P.M. PST)
Denver at Houston (8 P.M. EST/5 P.M. PST)
Orlando at Minnesota (8 P.M. EST/5 P.M. PST)
Toronto at Dallas (8:30 P.M. EST/5:30 P.M. PST)
LA Lakers at Utah (9 P.M. EST/6 P.M. PST)
Detroit at Sacramento (10 P.M. EST/7 P.M. PST)
San Antonio at LA Clippers (10:30 P.M. EST/7:30 P.M. PST)
Cleveland at Golden State (10:30 P.M. EST/7:30 P.M. PST)

Birthdays for November 7

Player Name (playing years)

Jackson, Darnell 2008-2010
Jackson, Tony 1967-1968
Johnson, Ken 1985-1985
Lawal, Gani 2010-2010
Obrien, Jim 1973-1974
Russell, Rubin 1967-1967
Steppe, Brook 1982-1988
Yates, Wayne 1961-1961

VIDEO CREDITS: 1) Dallas Mavericks YouTube channel. 2) echavez1974.


Payton Wales is our TNLP scribe in charge of links. Catch his writing at TheProBasketballTalk.Com and follow him on Twitter at @PaytonWales.

Related Content

DeMar DeRozan Agrees To Contract Extension With Toronto

Stephen Curry And Golden State Agree To Extension

Ty Lawson Signs An Extension With Denver

2012-13 TNLP Season Preview (30-Team Quickie)

2012-13 Los Angeles Lakers Season Preview