UFC 133: Evans vs. Ortiz Preview, Predictions

| by

Cursed, injury plagued, weak are just some of the alternate names fans and media have coined for Saturdays UFC 133: Evans vs. Ortiz card. Cursed, maybe, injury plagued, hell yes, but weak is a bit much for a card that sports five former UFC/WEC champions.

Third time was the charm for the night main event as it was originally thought to be Jon Jones vs. Rashad Evans for the light heavyweight title. After Jones claimed an injury, Phil Davis stepped in to face Evans. Just over three weeks before the fight Davis was forced of the card and the UFC called on Tito Ortiz just 10 days after defeating Ryan Bader at UFC 132. Ortiz originally declined the fight but when the UFC approached him again he accepted the rematch from UFC 73.

Yes Ortiz and Evans first locked horns over four years ago at UFC 73 in Sacramento, California. The fight was closely contested bout that had Ortiz winning the fight, until he grabbed the cage and was thus deducted a point, which caused the 28-28 draw. The two former light heavyweight champions will now get to settle their draw inside the Octagon, while headlining a pay per view.

A middleweight bout between Yoshihiro Akiyama vs. Vitor Belfort was quickly promoted to co-main event following an injury to Antonio Rogerio Nogueira, who was set to face Rich Franklin. The former UFC light heavyweight champion (Belfort) will look to bounce back after being “seagal’d” by Anderson Silva in the first round at UFC 126.

Rounding out the main card will be three bouts that on paper should be action packed and highly entertaining. Welterweights Rory MacDonald takes on Veteran Mike Pyle, while Brian Ebersole and Dennis Hallman square off. The final main card bout is middleweights Costantinos Philippou vs. Jorge Rivera, who had been hinting at retirement leading up to the bout.

UFC 133 features 11 overall bouts that will air on Facebook (2:45pm PT/ 5:45pm ET), SpikeTV (5pm PT/ 8pm ET) and close out on PPV (6pm PT/ 9pm ET).

MAIN CARD (Pay-per-view)

Rashad Evans vs. Tito Ortiz – Rashad Evans

Yoshihiro Akiyama vs. Vitor Belfort – Yoshihiro Akiyama

Brian Ebersole vs. Dennis Hallman – Dennis Hallman

Constantinos Philippou vs. Jorge Rivera – Jorge Rivera

Rory MacDonald vs. Mike Pyle – Rory MacDonald


Alexander Gustafsson vs. Matt Hamill – Alexander Gustafsson

ChadMendes vs. Rani Yahya – Chad Mendes


Ivan Menjivar vs. Nick Pace – Ivan Menjivar

Johny Hendricks vs. Mike Pierce – Johny Hendricks

Mike Brown vs. NamPhan – Mike Brown

Paul Bradley vs. Rafael “Sapo” Natal – Paul Bradley

Get more great MMA news, recaps and analysis over at MMA Valor.