Sports

MMA Analysis: Wilson Gouveia vs. Dwayne Lewis at MFC 32

| by

After a long absence from action, former UFC fighter Wilson Gouveia is now ready to step back into the cage. Gouveia’s last fight was May of 2010 in the Maximum Fighting Championship where he lost a unanimous decision against Ryan Jimmo at MFC 25: Vindication. Gouveia has signed on the dotted line to return to fight January 27th against Dwayne Lewis at MFC 32: Bitter Rivals.

Their light heavyweight bout will be the co-main event of the night and will be the promotions first-ever five round non-title fight. The card is headlined by a lightweight title fight between Antonio McKee and Brian Cobb.

Following his third defeat in a row Gouveia took some time off to focus on healing himself physically. A lingering back injury was ultimately deemed to need full treatment and the Brazilian underwent intensive therapy. Now fully healed and ready to go, Gouveia looks to derail Lewis’s own comeback bid was just the incentive required.

“Nothing has changed in my style but this time I have found a re-motivation to come in and give 100%,” said Gouveia. “I am recovered 100%. I see holes in his game and I’m going to use those during the night of the fight to win.”

Gouveia (12-8) hold some notable wins in his career but after losing four of his last six he is need desperate need of a win. Lewis (12-7) is also coming off a loss to Ryan Jimmo under the Maximum Fighting Champion banner and at 2-2 in his last four he finds himself in the same predicament as his opponent.

MFC 32: Bitter Rivals will air on HDNet Fights from the Mayfield Conference Centre in Edmonton, Alberta, on Friday, January 27 at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT.

Get more great MMA news, recaps and analysis over at MMA Valor.