Society

Pit Bull Owners Face Tough New BSL in County, Including Mandatory Spay/Neuter

| by Phyllis M Daugherty

 Pit bull owners in Carroll County, Mississippi, may keep their dogs, but they will have to obey stricter regulations, the Greenwood Commonwealth announces.

Under the  new ordinance passed by the Board of Supervisor, Pit Bulls cannot be chained outdoors nor allowed to run loose in yards, and they must be spayed or neutered.

According to the Washington Times, among the restrictions placed by the new law, no dwelling may have more than three Pit Bulls, and they can’t be within 50 feet of a public school, park or church when activities are being held.

Pit Bulls must be securely confined indoors or, if outdoors, they must be confined in steel cages of a designated size on concrete foundations.

Popular Video

A police officer saw a young black couple drive by and pulled them over. What he did next left them stunned:

Popular Video

A police officer saw a young black couple drive by and pulled them over. What he did next left them stunned:

A Pit Bull cannot be walked by anyone under 21 years of age, and it must be muzzled when on a leash.

All Pit bull owners must carry $100,000 liability insurance policies or post $100,000 cash bond with a reputable bonding company.

Penalties for violations include fines of $250 to $500 for a first offense, $500 to $999 for a second offense and $1,000 to $1,499 for third and subsequent offenses.

Cases will be heard in the justice court.

The call for a pit bull ordinance came after the Board of Supervisors was urged to consider banning the breed in the wake of the fatal mauling of 3-year-old Christopher Malone in Holmes County on March 31 and a series of prior attacks.

Family members showed officers the pen where they say the dogs were kept but said they somehow broke out and killed the little boy, although they had shown no prior aggression, MSNewsNow reports.

"The dog just jumped him and took him down and drugged him in the back and killed him, ate him up," Lucy Mayze, an aunt of the victim told reporters.

Christopher’s mother was also injured trying to save him, according to Captain Sam Chambers with the Holmes County Sheriff's Department.

The ordinance was approved by a 3-2 vote by supervisors, according to the Republic. It will be published three times before it goes into effect on August 9.

Sheriff Jerry Carver supported the new law.

Sources: Washington Times, GW Common Wealth, MS News Now, The Republic